God bless Donna Hay for the prettiest cookbooks around, and for recipes that work (almost) every time. We swear by her Crisp Rice Omelette from her excellent cookbook Off the Shelf: Cooking from the Pantry.

It’s the best thing to whip up in all of 15 minutes when you have leftover rice in the fridge.

It is this:

2 tbsp peanut oil (I always use sesame)

1 1/2 cups cooked rice (she likes jasmine or short grain for this, but I just use whatever’s on hand, which is usually brown basmati)

4 green onions, shredded

150 grams (4 oz) snowpeas, shredded (o, infuriated measures. I just use two big handfuls, and I shred them in the Cuisinart. If the snowpeas look miserable, I use sugarsnap peas, which are sweeter. I like them better anyway)

2 red chillies, seeded and chopped (I always skip them. I wonder why)

6 eggs, lightly beaten

Soy sauce, to serve

1. Preheat your oven to 350 degrees F.

2. Heat an 8-inch frying pan over high heat. Donna wants you to use no-stick, but I refuse. (I haven’t allowed Teflon anything into my kitchen in a good 10 year. Unstable lining, toxic off-gassing at high temperatures. Old news.) Tangent: The real trick to making sure absolutely nothing sticks to a stainless-steel pan is to make sure it’s really good and hot (at medium-high heat at least) before you add any oil to the pan. Once you do so, let the oil get good and hot before you add food thing to the pan. Then, once the food is in, let it create a nice seal. Don’t flip it, breaking the seal, until the bottom of whatever you’re cooking is nice and unraw and browned. Get away from there! Let it seal, for chrissake. Do this for fish, chicken, veg, eggs, pancakes and you’ll never be sorry. And you’ll never cook with Teflon again.

Back to the omelette:

3. Add the oil. [Let it get hot.]

4. Add the rice and cook, stirring, for 5 minutes or until the rice is slightly crisp.

5. Add the spring onions, chillies and snowpeas and cook for 2 minutes.

6. Pour the eggs overtop and stir for 1 minute. Reduce the heat to low and cook, without stirring, for 5 minutes.

7. Finish cooking the omelette in the oven for 3 minutes or until the omelette has set.

To serve, slice into pieces and drizzle with soy. Serves 4. [Very funny, Donna Hay. Serves me and Wayne, easy, with barely a scrap left for the next day’s lunch.]

Accompany this with my Sexiest Asian Coleslaw in Town, and that’s dinner, my friend – before the bloodsugar drops and the wheels fall off the goddamn cart.

If you know another yummy Asian side we should be pairing this with, please lay it on me.

